Editors preventing articles from having infoboxes

fireflyfanboy
kołdry
Wikipedia User: fireflyfanboy

Editors preventing articles from having infoboxes

Unread post by fireflyfanboy » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:25 am

Hi gang, I'm fireflyfanboy, I'm a longtime Wikipedia editor and I joined this site specifically to raise awareness of the craziness surrounding the bios of both Ezra Pound and James Joyce. I don't know if this the best place to post about this, but I thought this would be the place to vent my frustration.

So, both the bio articles for authors James Joyce and Ezra Pound don't have infoboxes, based on consensus reached on their respective talk pages. However, the talk pages are infuriating, and basically the reason they don't have infoboxes is because of a very vocal minority of what seem to be diehard modernist fans claiming that Joyce and Pound's lives are "too complex" to be contained in an infobox, despite the fact that all infoboxes are supposed to do is make basic biographical data accessible.

Here's some things over heard in the talk page discussion for Pound's bio (which can be found at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk:Ezra ... of_Infobox)
I dislike an infobox for this particular article for a number of reasons, but mostly because the peculiarities of Pound's life are difficult to distill into the fields of an infobox. He was born in Hailey but only lived there for the first 18 months of his life; he went to the University of Pennsylvania but graduated from Hamilton; he was married to Dorothy but had a half-century affair with Olga; he had a child with his mistress, his wife had a child presumably fathered by someone else; the list of his influences is long and in turn he influenced the next generation or two of poets. I've tried to write the lead in such a manner that the facts of his life are presented there without the necessity of the infobox. Truthkeeper88 (talk) 12:39, 29 September 2010 (UTC)