Discussions on Wikimedia governance
Jim
Blue Meanie
kołdry
Wikipedia User: Begoon
Wikipedia Review Member: Jim

Steward elections

Unread post by Jim » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:41 am

Ok, so today, wikipedia gives me a banner: "The steward elections have started - please vote"

I click on it, and get this:

If I stare at it, I can see about 2, maybe 3 names I have ever seen before.
I see exactly none I know anything at all about.

Are these guys just meta career "politicians", alt accounts for folks we know, or what?

How on earth would I cast an informed vote?

EricBarbour

Re: Steward elections

Unread post by EricBarbour » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:11 am

Link for the lazy:
http://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Stewards/Elections_2015

Avjoska is an admin on Estonian WP.

Cekli829 is from Azeri WP.

DidiWeidmann is Swiss and spends a lot of time on Esperanto WP.

Einsbor is from Polish WP.

Jusjih is Chinese, former steward.

Linedwell is an admin on French WP.

MarcoAurelio "As of today I am a sysop and bureaucrat on the Spanish Wikibooks and Meta-Wiki (where I am also a CheckUser) and I have held administrator permissions on the Spanish Wikipedia and at Wikimedia Commons. I also was a member of the OTRS system." I've seen him arguing with people on Commons occasionally.

Mys_721tx admin and CU on Chinese WP.

Natuur12 sysop on Dutch WP, was on Commons and used to fight with Russavia.

Pmlineditor is from Bangladesh: "Currently, I am an admin and a bureaucrat in the Simple English Wikipedia, and an admin on Meta-Wiki, English Wikiquote & Simple English Wiktionary." Also a "global sysop".

Ruy Pugliesi bureaucrat on Portuguese WP. Another "global sysop". Yes, there is now a "global sysop" position.

Stryn is an admin and arbitrator on Finnish WP, and a big-shot on Wikidata. Yet another "global sysop".

Taketa is an bureaucrat and former arbitrator on Dutch WP.

Vodomar is a longtime admin on Croatian WP.

That's why you've seen so little of them--they tend to stay off English WP.